Encouragement for the Journey

Don’t worry about your child’s grade. Just let em’ do the best that they can each day. Children grow intellectually as they do physically, in spurts. Although we may have an audience of skeptical relatives, educating at home is not a circus, and we refuse to train our children to do tricks for people.

Routines 8 July, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — weefay @ 7:44 pm

Our Daily routine

Here is our daily routine that we generally follow:

Morning:

I do not set an alarm in the morning, but I usually wake up between 6:00 and 7:00. Here is my morning routine:

  • get up & get dressed 
  • wash face / fix hair
  • Plan dinner/thaw meat
  • juice, vitamins and wake up kids (kids are usually up by now but they are not allowed down stairs until I call them)
  • oversee breakfast prep. / prayer reading while kids eat
  • kids morning routine: make bed, wash up, brush teeth
  • discuss chore lists w/kids 
  • start laundry
  • Play time outside (we’re taking a summer break from studies)
  • Dinner @Noon

Afternoon:
After dinner clean up I send the big kids up stairs to read and the two little ones stay in my room for quite time. I usually read or put my feet up for a bit.

After an hour and a half, I get everyone up and give them a snack. Then we take a walk or play outside some more.

Around 4pm I start supper and the kids get to watch a show or dvd while they fold their laundry.
Evening:
We eat supper between 5:00-6:00 and everyone helps with clean-up.

  • Free time
  • showers and brush teeth
  • room clean up
  • Read family story to the kids
  • Prayers

Kids are in bed by 8pm

Quite time for me reading, prayers.

I try to get to sleep by 9:30, here lately it’s been way later.

 

Leave a Reply

